Skip to content ↓

The Characteristics of the Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage covers children from 0-5 years old and therefore is followed closely in both the nursery and the reception classrooms.

The new statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was published in March 2021 and was effective from September 2021. Its sets out standards that all Early Years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children are ready for school and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life. 

It comprises of  7 developmental areas.

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • Physical Development

These are areas that children develop quickly in response to relationships and experience. They run through and support children’s learning in all other areas.

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These are areas that include developing specific skills and knowledge.

Both the Prime and Specific areas will be taught through:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

A document with the aim of giving parents an overview of the EYFS Framework 2012 has been published. It illustrates how parents can support their child during the foundation years and to give parents more details about the implementation of the EYFS in their setting.   It has been designed to be accessed electronically but each Foundation Stage class has a hard copy for parents to look at.